Prime Minister Dr Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa. Photo/Fale Alea ‘o Tonga (Facebook)

Prime Minister Dr Pōhiva Tu’i’onetoa has named Tonga’s Chief Nursing and Midwifery head Dr ‘Amelia Afuha’amango Tu’ipulotu from outside parliament as new Minister of Health.

Two new members of the nobility listed in the new cabinet lineup, which was leaked to Kaniva news yesterday, were Lord Nuku, the new Minister of Police and Lord Tu’ilakepa, the new Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Lord Ma’afu who became the Minister of Land, Survey and Natural Resources as well as Minister of His Majesty’s Armed Forces in late ‘Akilisi Pōhiva’s cabinet has retained his seat in the new cabinet list.

Three other PTOA Party MPs listed in the lineup were MP Vātau Hui, the new Minister of Internal Affairs and MP ‘Akosita Lavulavu has been named as the new Minister of Infrastructure and Tourism. Lavulavu was dismissed by the late PM Pōhiva in April due to criminal charges.

MP Poasi Tei from the Party continued in his position as Minister of MEIDECC ( Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications.).

Tēvita Lavemaau, the former minister of Finance and Siaosi Sovaleni, the former minister of Public Enterprises, and who were also dismissed by the late Prime Minister in 2017 after what had been described as an attempt to undermine the government, have been also returned to office by Hon Tu’i’onetoa.

Lavemaau is the new Minister of Finance, Minister of Customs and Revenue while Sovaleni is the new Minister of Education.

Former Deputy Prime Minister MP Sāmiu Vaipulu was named as new Minister of Labour.

Tu’i’onetoa  has chosen Tongatapu 7 MP and Minister of Justice Sione Vuna Fā’otusia as Deputy Prime Minister.

As we reported earlier this week, Dr Tu’i’onetoa and Fā’otusia, who were ministers in good standing in the late Pōhiva government, earlier this week crossed the floor to form the new People’s Party and gain the support from a united group of nobles and independent MPs.

Attempts to get the unofficial lineup list confirmed by the Prime Minister or his Deputy were unsuccessful.

The Prime
Minister has the power to nominate his cabinet lineup before recommending the
king to appoint them, according to the constitution.

He also has
the constitutional power to appoint no more than four cabinet ministers from
outside Parliament.

The new lineup:

1. Dr Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa – Prime Minister of Tonga, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Public Enterprises

2. Sione Vuna Fā’otusia – Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Justice and Prison

3. Tēvita Lavemaau – Minister of Finance, Minister of Customs and Revenue

4. Siaosi
Sovaleni – Minister of Education

5. Dr.
‘Amelia Afuha’amango Tu’ipulotu – Minister of Health

6. ‘Akosita
Lavulavu – Minister of Infrastructure, Minister of Tourism

7. Poasi Tei
– Minister of MEIDECC

8. Lord Nuku
– Minister of Police

9. Samiu
Vaipulu – Minister of Labour

10. Vatau
Hui – Minister of Internal Affairs

11. Lord Tu’ilakepa
– Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries

12. Lord
Ma’afu – Minister of His Majesty’s Armed Forces, Minister of Land and Survey
and Natural Resources 


​Os textos, informações e opiniões publicados neste espaço são de total responsabilidade do(a) autor(a). Logo, não correspondem, necessariamente, ao ponto de vista do Central da Pauta.