June 04, 2019 07:32:58

Australia has named a 14-player squad for the women’s Ashes series beginning next month in England.

National selector Shawn Flegler said Sophie Molineux was the only player to miss out from Australia’s recent series against New Zealand.

“Sophie has been doing everything she could do prove her fitness having had a shoulder reconstruction back in February, but she still needs a bit more time to make sure she’s 100 per cent, so she’ll travel to England with the Australia A side,” Flegler said.

Australian squad

Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck.

“Tayla Vlaeminck was also under an injury cloud but she’s back bowling and has had a terrific off-season up in Brisbane, so we’re really excited to see what she can do in English conditions.

“We’re fortunate to be able to take an Australia A side to England as well which will give us flexibility with the squad as we move through the various formats.

“As holders of the Ashes it’s going to be a big challenge for the team to bring the trophy back to Australia, but we believe the side has the right mix of talent and the depth to do exactly that.”

Australia and England will play three one-day internationals, a Test match and three T20 internationals.

As with recent series, the winner will be decided on a points basis, with two points for each ODI and T20I victory — the Test victory will be worth four points.

The most recent series was played on Australian soil in 2017/18, when Australia retained the women’s Ashes after a drawn series.

The teams drew a day-night Test at North Sydney Oval, while the home side edged the ODIs 2-1 and the tourists won the T20 internationals by the same margin.

The Australia A squad will play matches against the England Women’s Team and England Women’s Academy.

Women’s Ashes schedule


  • July 2: 1st ODI — Grace Road, Leicester
  • July 4: 2nd ODI — Grace Road, Leicester
  • July 7: 3rd ODI — St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury


  • July 18-21: The County Ground, Taunton


  • July 26: 1st T20I — County Ground, Chelmsford
  • July 28: 2nd T20I — The County Ground, Hove
  • July 31: 3rd T20I — Bristol County Ground, Bristol







​Os textos, informações e opiniões publicados neste espaço são de total responsabilidade do(a) autor(a). Logo, não correspondem, necessariamente, ao ponto de vista do Central da Pauta.